June Member Spotlight: Heather Marcelli

Tell us a little about yourself and what got you on the path to CrossFit…What keeps you coming back each day?

I enjoy the coaching staff, the other members in my noon class and the way it makes me feel. It is nice to be able to get an hour-long break in the middle of the day from work and use that time to also lead a healthier lifestyle. I also like the fact that I don’t have to plan my own workouts!


What is your favorite at-home exercise to do?

Most of my home workouts consist of running.


If you had to do 100 reps of one movement (not running), what would it be?

Squats

What are 1-2 of your goals for 2021? Have you accomplished any of these?

The first goal I made this year was to take more photos because I’m not great at capturing moments that I want to remember. I haven’t done much better with this, but I still have 6 months, right??


My second goal is figuring out how to be a mom and keeping up with my fitness.


Favorite Lift?

High bar back squat


Least favorite Crossfit movement?

Snatches. I’ve gotten better at them but still working on form and it has been years.


Hometown?

Fredericksburg, VA


Favorite Charleston Restaurant?

Wild Olive. Never disappoints.


If you could do another job for just one day, what would it be?

I would like to be a vintner for a day. I enjoy wine and it might be fun to make some and of course taste test.


What would you most like to tell yourself at age 13?

I would tell myself not to stress so much over gymnastics. Enjoy it and continue to compete but this won’t be something that you do forever so no reason to stress. Relax and enjoy your high school years!


If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would you meet?

I would like to meet my maternal great grandmother. I’ve grown up listening to stories of how wonderful she was. “Sweet Lillian” is what they called her. My family still uses a lot of her recipes as well so learning to cook with her would be great.


One thing about me people would be surprised to know?

I have a Bachelor of Science in Biological Sciences but I have never done anything with it! I worked as an estimator for construction companies out of college and then started doing my own thing. I now own an ecommerce business with my husband and our best friend.


If the CFJI coaches came to your house for dinner, what would you prepare?

I would make a salad, chicken parmesan and cheesecake for dessert.


Give us a “Question of the Day” to use in class.

What do you want to be remembered for after you have passed?

Is there anything else we need to know about you?

Not that I can think of.










Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square